Teriyaki Chicken

I am the person you’re embarrassed to be seen with in a sushi restaurant. See, I don’t eat shellfish, the idea of cold fish wrapped in seaweed makes me gag, and I’m not even a fan of sake. So when we go out for Japanese food, I have teriyaki or tempura and Mr. B tries to pretend he doesn’t know me while he orders eight types of fish I can’t even recognize on sight.

Chicken, on the other hand, has a wider appeal. This chicken is perfect, with orange and soy and even a bit of sake to round out the sauce.

Ingredients (serves 2)

3/4 lb chicken parts

flour, for dredging

2-3 T oil for frying

3 T soy sauce

3 T sake

Juice of 1/2 of an orange (Satsuma or Clementine, not Navel)

1 T sugar

1 head of broccoli

Directions

Dredge the chicken pieces in flour.

Cook in heated oil in a wok for 1-2 minutes a side.

Set the chicken aside and drain the oil. Combine the soy sauce, sake, sugar, and orange juice in the wok. Stir to dissolve the sugar and heat over medium heat.

Add the chicken and flip to coat once the sauce begins to simmer.

Cut the broccoli into florets and toss in with the chicken.

Cover for about 5 minutes to steam the broccoli.

Toss everything in the sauce one last time before serving. Serve with rice and fried lotus root.

This is incredibly quick to make; even when juggling three hot pots and pans and a camera, everything was finished and plated in fifteen minutes. I like the addition of orange to the sauce, because our favorite Japanese restaurant adds a whole orange on the side of their teriyaki and the best bites are the ones the orange has oozed into. It’s tangy and delicious.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lynda Kayes on January 25, 2012 - 10:10 AM

    looks good and fast, I like teriyaki chicken definately into easy, since I’m not using the camera that eliminates one of your steps I’ll try it and let you know what i think. what is fried lotus root? Did you cook that too? What about the rice did you use good old uncle bens or japanese short grain??

    • #2 by koshercorvid on January 25, 2012 - 11:15 AM

      I don’t know what Uncle Ben’s is. We use a Japanese short grain called Koshihikari. We buy lotus root already peeled and sliced, and just shallow fried it in oil until crisp. It’s good with a bit of kosher salt and a sprinkling of vinegar.

  2. #3 by Lynda Kayes on January 25, 2012 - 12:24 PM

    uncle bens is probably the biggest selling rice in the US, it’s in the orange box, long grain tho’
    the lotus root looks interesting haven’t seen that before. We have a new asian market that just open up here I’ll look for it any way I’m going to try this recipe just looks too good and easy to pass up
    PS do you use a rice cooker or the old fashioned way??

  3. #4 by Joanne on January 27, 2012 - 6:57 AM

    I’m totally a sushi fiend, so I never order teriyaki when out though I LOVE the flavor! I need to try this sauce, maybe on tofu. It sounds super tasty!

Leave a Reply

