Olive Roasted Brussels Sprouts

So, I made these back in early December. Since the move, though, the camera has been safely nestled in a box and the computer has been safely ensconced in a different room from the X-Box, and I have Skyrim.

Basically, I’m telling you that I’d rather make cabbage stew in a video game than sign on here and talk about actual real food. I’m ready to be judged.

These sprouts are worth waiting for, though. I know sprouts have a bad reputation, and they even deserve it sometimes, but it isn’t their fault! See, Brussels sprouts are delicious, until you overcook them. Once you overcook them, they are sickening, mushy, sulfurous little beasties that just don’t deserve to be in the dining room. Roasted briefly–for 15 to 20 minutes, tops–they are crisp, fresh, smoky on the outside, and crunch a bit like broccoli stems crossed with cabbage in the middle. Add olives and you have a perfect side dish.

Ingredients (serves 2)

10-12 small Brussels sprouts

6 olives

1-2 T olive oil

1/4 cup grated Parmesan

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Cut the sprouts in half lengthwise, put them in a bowl, and drizzle them with olive oil.

Slice the olives into half-moons. They’re not pretty, but they are tasty.

Toss the olive slices over the sprouts.

Grate on some Parmesan cheese and toss it all together.

Arrange the sprouts cut side down in an 8″ by 8″ baking pan. This will ensure that the cut edges get nice and browned. Add salt and pepper as desired.

Roast the sprouts for 15-20 minutes, until a fork slides in without violent stabbing but still meets some resistance.

Serve with drunken pasta and very crunchy bread.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Joanne on January 19, 2012 - 6:17 AM

    I love brussels sprouts AND I love olives – this dish couldn’t be more perfect!

  2. #2 by koshercorvid on January 19, 2012 - 8:38 AM

    Isn’t it great? I was talking about it at work the day after I made it and at least three people said something along the lines of “Ew, I hate Brussels sprouts and/or olives.” Crazy people! More for me, though.

  3. #3 by Mom on January 24, 2012 - 7:44 PM

    I do not like them Sam I am.

    • #4 by koshercorvid on January 25, 2012 - 11:02 AM

      I know; you never made them when I was a kid. I thought they must be really gross if you didn’t like them!

Leave a Reply

