Drunken Pasta

I’m counting us as moved in now. I found the box with salt owl, and all of my socks*, so my days are getting back to normal except for the part where all of our books are in boxes. We have many books. It’s kind of a problem. In the weeks leading up to the move, I kept cooking, but we really had to go for meals that took only one pot or pan. Everything else was in a box in the new place. Still, it was a fun challenge (I’m so glad it’s over) to try and keep things interesting in the kitchen with only one drawer full of kitchen equipment. Then I looked in the fridge (we hadn’t gone shopping in almost two weeks) and found that we were out of a lot of staples. There was Parmesan, and butter, and wine, and some Brussels sprouts, but very little else. We had eaten pasta for the previous three days, and were about to again. Don’t get me wrong, I love pasta, but there’s only so much one can have in a week before getting bored. Somebody needed to get drunk for this to work. Not me; as much as I cook with wine, I don’t drink it. I vaguely recalled seeing something about drunken spaghetti somewhere a few months before (cookbook? Internet? I really don’t remember.) and I thought, why not cook this pasta in wine? I won’t lie to you. It’s pretty darn good. The color alone makes me happy. The flavor, which I worried would be too strong for a non-wine drinker like myself, was actually perfect. I wanted seconds, which is rare for me. I think this could be improved by a bit of balsamic reduction drizzled on at the end, but otherwise it’s just right as-is. It’s easy–you just make pasta, really–but could be impressive, too.

Ingredients (serves 2 hungry people with leftovers) 1/2 pound angel hair or spaghetti

3 cups red wine

1 cup water

2 T butter

1/4 cup grated Parmesan

a sprig of rosemary

salt, to taste

Directions

Because I was using a very small pot for the pasta, I snapped it in half first. Pour the wine and water into a pot. Bring it to a boil. Add the pasta and cook to al dente. This will take a different amount of time depending on the pasta you choose,  your altitude, whether you choose to salt the wine/water at this time, etc. Once the pasta is cooked, drain it over a bowl. We’ll use the cooking liquid for a sauce. Melt the butter in a saucepan (or the same pot you made pasta in). Add rosemary leaves and cook gently to release the flavor. Pour the reserved cooking liquid into the butter. Boil the sauce over medium-high heat for 5-7 minutes or until it has reduced to your desired consistency. Pour the sauce over the pasta and serve with crispy roasted Brussels sprouts or broccoli. It turns out that this is just as good the next day, when there is slightly better light that at 9:00 at night. *I did not pack the salt owl and the socks in the same box. That would be ridiculous.

, , ,

  1. #1 by lexy3587 on January 3, 2012 - 10:34 AM

    Glad you’re all moved! The pasta looks delicious, definitely going to show up sometime soon as a meal.

    • #2 by koshercorvid on January 3, 2012 - 1:39 PM

      It’s a lot calmer around here now that we’re not constantly running back and forth between apartments half an hour away from each other! I still miss my books–it doesn’t feel right to leave them in boxed for so long–but at least we’re finally settled into a routine again. now if I can just make enough time for both this blog and video games, I’ll be set!

  2. #3 by Lynda Kayes on January 12, 2012 - 5:06 PM

    this looks interesting, I sometimes (horrors) have wine that I open but don’t finish this would be a good use for that. Brussel sprouts are my favorite veg so I like that part too.
    Glad you are finally moved in, mostly settled. It is always good to be home (wherever your books are is home for you- Mr. B too)
    Happy belated new year!

    • #4 by koshercorvid on January 12, 2012 - 7:20 PM

      These are great roasted Brussels sprouts. I’ll toss the recipe on here when I next have more than a few minutes free to spend on the Internet.

Leave a Reply

