S’mores French Toast

I love breakfast. If there’s nothing but fruit or yogurt for breakfast, I will grump about the apartment all morning and probably not let up until (a) I have to go to work or (b) lunchtime.

Five days a week, I have either fruit or yogurt for breakfast. I love yogurt. I love fruit. What I don’t love is eating cold meals first thing in the morning when I’m already cold because Mr. B likes to keep the thermostat set to approximately four degrees Kelvin. (Okay, it’s not that bad. I’m just cold if it’s under 85°F, and that’s weird apparently.) But who has time to make waffles on a workday? Or pancakes? Even hash browns are a stretch if I want to have time for my morning run (and if I’m going to eat potatoes fried in butter or duck fat I had better not skip the running).

French toast is the easy breakfast, the I’m-too-lazy-too-cook-but-I-don’t-just-want-a-yogurt breakfast. It’s ten minutes from idea to meal. Add chocolate and marshmallow fluff and prepare to swoon.

You could make this even more s’more-like by dredging the French toast in graham cracker crumbs after soaking it in the egg and cream mixture, but in the spirit of keeping this quick and easy (Okay, I was lazy and sleepy) I left it as-is.

Ingredients (makes 3 French toast sandwiches, serves 2-3)

6 slices challah (not too thick)

4-6 T Nutella

3-4 T marshmallow fluff

2 eggs

1/2 cup heavy cream (or milk, but let’s be realistic; you’re not gonna make this healthy)

3 T brown sugar

1 t vanilla

pinch kosher salt

1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs (optional)

Directions

Combine the eggs, cream, sugar, and vanilla in a nice wide bowl.

Mix the batter well.

Spread Nutella on three of the bread slices and marshmallow fluff on the other three, and sandwich them up. Try not to use too much marshmallow fluff; it will ooze out the sides while you cook the French toast and burn. Which smells delicious at first, but then it starts to burn too much and is not so great.

Get ready to cook the French toast. Plop a pat of butter in your favorite pan.

Melt it over medium-high heat.

Soak the Nutella-fluff  sandwiches for about 15 seconds in the batter. Dredge the soaked sandwiches in graham cracker crumbs, if using, then transfer them immediately to the pan to fry. Fry them about 3 minutes on the first side.

Flip and fry about 3 minutes on the second side.

Serve as is or with a drizzle of honey if you’re feeling particularly decadent (of course I was. Do you even have to ask?) The filling are molten and delicious, the edged crisp and crunchy, and the challah perfectly sweet. This is definitely the breakfast for not having to work until 11 A.M.

 

  1. #1 by Lynda Kayes on October 22, 2011 - 10:23 AM

    this is a breakfast to help you go back to sleep for the whole winter! Sounds delicious and decadent!

    • #2 by koshercorvid on October 22, 2011 - 7:12 PM

      Ha! The secret is small servings. We wouldn’t want to overdo it!

Leave a Reply

