Most Decadent Grilled Cheese

I have a thing for grilled cheese. I’ve loved it ever since I was a little kid and my mother would make them for me on white bread with American cheese squares. I made them with baguettes and cheddar in college on my one contraband burner, the one I picked up at Goodwill for three dollars and kept hidden in my sock drawer so I wouldn’t get thrown out of the dorms.  It’s one of those self-destructive relationships you know you should get out of, but every time you try you remember the good things about it. So tasty. So crunchy and goo-ful. It’s easy to forget that each innocent little sandwich contains approximately 84,217 calories.

This sandwich is an abusive boyfriend.

This particular grilled cheese sandwich probably has even more than 84,217 calories. This sandwich could probably fill the caloric needs of a small nation for a week. And the worst part is, I can eat two in one sitting. Grilled cheese is like that. What makes this one special is simple. Huge slabs of fresh mozzarella. Bread battered like French toast. A hint of nutmeg. The simplicity of it is what overwhelms. Honestly, I own a whole cookbook of nothing but grilled cheese (I know; totally unnecessary, right?) and this trumps the best of them.

Ingredients (makes two sandwiches. Serves two morally upstanding folk, or one me.)

4 slices good bread. Challah is best, but use what you have. I used a baguette this time.

1 egg

1/4 cup whole milk

pinch salt

smidge nutmeg (Seriously, who measures nutmeg? How do you even manage it?)

2 T ricotta cheese

1/2 pound mozzarella (not a typo)

2-3 T butter, for frying

Directions

Start some butter melting in a pan over medium-high heat.

Crack the egg into a shallow bowl and pour the milk over it.

Grate in some nutmeg and a big pinch of salt and whisk it all together.

Spread a generous smear of ricotta on one side of each slice of bread, then top two slices with 1/4 pound slabs of mozzarella. I do mean slabs. you want to use a crazy ton of cheese here.

So much cheese!

Soak the sandwiches in the milk and egg mixture. Don’t forget to double dip! Achilles didn’t get double-dipped in the Styx, and that got him killed. Double-dipping is imperative. Consider yourselves warned.

Fry the sandwiches about 4-5 minutes on the first side. . .

Then about 4-5 minutes on the second side. . .

I use a cast iron skillet because it browns things up so very nicely. You want the bread crisp and dark brown, the cheese positively oozing out the sides, and the smell to linger somewhere between torturous and delightful.

Sprinkle a pinch of kosher salt over the top just before serving. Serve with devil fries and cold grapes. Or just eat them on their own and don’t share. I understand. Grilled cheese will do that to you.

, , ,

  1. #1 by lexy3587 on July 6, 2011 - 10:42 AM

    this looks very tasty!
    where does the ricotta come in? it might be in there and I just didn’t notice, but i saw it in the pic, and in the ingredients… and I love me some ricotta… but don’t see it at all in what you’re doing.

    • #2 by koshercorvid on July 6, 2011 - 2:28 PM

      Oops! you smear it on right before adding the cheese. I fixed it in the recipe. It’s super tasty, plus it helps keep the mozzarella from sliding around while you’re dipping and flipping.

  2. #3 by faithbenitez on August 9, 2011 - 9:40 PM

    now that is just sexy.

    • #4 by koshercorvid on August 11, 2011 - 9:58 PM

      Ha! Unfortunately I think it may be a major contributor to a less-than-sexy corvid this summer. This, and all the pies I keep making. It’s so worth it, though!

Leave a Reply

