Peanut Butter Milkshakes

You probably don’t want to know how much peanut butter I go through in a week. From sandwiches to cookies to spreading on apples, peanut butter joins me in meals at least once a day. At least. And now I’ve started adding it to liquids.

Owning a milkshake machine is a huge responsibility. You have to use it enough to justify the use of precious counter space, but use it much more than that and your waistline will suffer. Mine is gonna suffer for this.

Ingredients (makes 2 milkshakes) 2 big scoops of vanilla ice cream (about 2 cups)

1/2 cup of whole milk*

2 T peanut butter

3 T malt powder or brown sugar, optional

*This recipe isn’t going to be healthy. Don’t bother watering it down with low-fat milk or ice cream. If the calories worry you, I recommend iced tea.)

Directions

Combine milk and ice cream in the canister of a milk shake device (Or try a blender. I can’t try a blender; I don’t own one.)

Add peanut butter and mix until smooth. Taste to check the consistency. If it’s too thin, add ice cream. If too thick (unlikely), add a bit of milk. Add malt powder and/or sugar if desired and mix again. I don’t always want it too sweet, but it tastes a lot more like dessert with the malt.

Pour milkshake into a pair of nice big glasses and enjoy.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Casey on June 13, 2011 - 1:14 PM

    oh my gosh, this sounds amazing!!

    • #2 by koshercorvid on June 13, 2011 - 5:11 PM

      It is! most people think I’m weird for drinking peanut butter, but I think this is my favorite milkshake. Except maybe raspberry-lime. I really should get rid of that machine. . .

Leave a Reply

