Peanut Butter Butterscotch Cookies: Gluten-Free Reprise

Cookies are going to be my downfall. With cakes and brownies, I know that a slice is a serving and I don’t go back for more. But cookies? There’s no such thing as just one cookie. I’ll head into the kitchen for a glass of water and find myself walking out with two cookies and a glass of milk. It’s not so good. These, unfortunately, were no exception. I made a batch of twenty-four and served them to a group of five one night.

We ate all of them over the course of a four-hour Star Wars RPG. I need to start freezing most of my dough and only baking small batches at a time.

I try to make gluten-free versions of my favorite dishes whenever I can. I know too many people who can’t or don’t eat gluten to ignore, and GF desserts are Passover friendly, too. But anything with peanut butter actually gets better when you cut out the flour. All flour does in a peanut butter cookie is damp down the peanut butter flavor. Which is all right, but sometimes one wants to be overwhelmed with unadulterated peanut butter and butterscotch, wreathed in a burnt toffee aroma. To make it happen, we simply combine two previous recipes, Peanut butter butterscotch cookies and gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Mr. B has declared this combination his new favorite cookie. It is worth noting, though, that the Toll House brand butterscotch chips that I used the second time contain a warning that they may contain barley. They should not be considered gluten-free. The generic Kroger brand I used the first time was GF, therefore safe for the celiac friend. Check your ingredients carefully when cooking for folks who can’t eat gluten; it crops up in unexpected places.

Ingredients (makes 24, apparently only serves 5.)

1 1/4 cups peanut butter

1 cup melted butterscotch chips, plus 3/4 cup butterscotch chips for later

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 1/2 t salt

1 T baking soda

2 eggs

1 T vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Mix the sugars, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl. Add the melted butterscotch and peanut butter and mix again.

Add eggs and vanilla and mix again. Stir in the butterscotch chips.

This next bit is kind of messy. Dump about 1/3 of a cup of granulated sugar into a bowl. As you make sticky two-tablespoon balls of cookie dough, roll them in the sugar. These cookies want to spread. They want to spread a lot. The sugar doesn’t really hold them together, but it keeps them from melting into pure toffee and gives them a lovely crackled surface.

Arrange the dough balls on two parchment lined baking sheets.

Bake for 8-10 minutes until the cookies are a deep golden brown and the kitchen smells of toffee.

Serve to hungry nerds. We can’t resist.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by glutenfreegimmethree on June 11, 2011 - 9:27 AM

    That is so amazing that you look out for us gluten free folks! I have the same problem with cookie serving size too. Usually I convince myself that 5 small cookies = 1 normal sized cookie/serving size, even though it’s obvious that my math is wrong. Also thanks for the tip about Toll House butterscotch chips. I’m usually really careful with labels, but sometimes I just assume that things that should be gluten free are.

    • #2 by koshercorvid on June 11, 2011 - 9:41 PM

      We have a friend with Celiac’s who comes over every 2 weeks or so for game night, and I would be a terrible hostess if I made a dessert for everyone but him! Combine that with a gluten-intolerant co-worker, another co-worker who just doesn’t like to eat processed foods (including flour), an uncle with Celiac’s, and of course a week without wheat every Passover (matzoh doesn’t count. Matzoh is nasty.), and you get a lot of GF desserts. Incidentally, Rice Krispies is coming out with a GF line in July, so if you like Krispie Treats, keep an eye out for them!

Leave a Reply

