The Baked Brownie with Matcha Chips

I shared my matcha chip recipe yesterday. Maybe you were wondering what to do with them. Sure, you can eat them by the handful while messing around on the Internet, but honestly that’s a lot less fun than brownies.

These brownies. If you have this book, you’ll notice that my version of their brownie is heavily modified. If you don’t have this book, for goodness’ sake get it. I never think someone else’s recipe is perfect when I first make it. So as much as I drool over the pictures in Baked by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito, I couldn’t help thinking that the granulated to brown sugar ratio should really be 1:1, that it needed a touch more chocolate, and of course some matcha chips.

The results blew the original out of the water. The bitterness of tea and dark chocolate combine with the earthy sweetness of dark brown sugar and a touch of malt for brownie perfection. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still more of a blondie girl, but if I’m going to eat a brownie it will forever be a variant on this. Maybe next time I’ll kick up the malt powder and throw in a pile of Whoppers. Malt makes everything better. Except Passover.

Anyway, these brownies are more of a hassle than most (and more of a hassle than blondies. Just sayin’.) but still under twenty minutes of active kitchen time even if you’re fussing with your sad, slow camera the whole time. (Seriously. I need a new camera. Recommendations?) The results are so rich and chocolatey that you will temporarily swear off cake. Don’t worry, though. That side effect last approximately two and a half minutes, at which point someone at work will remind you that you forgot to make his lemon birthday cake a month ago and you’ll be all over that idea.

Ingredients (Makes two dozen brownies in a 9×13 pan. People will want seconds.)

12 ounces dark chocolate (I used 8 ounces Baker’s semi-sweet and 4 ounces Scharffen Berger 99% dark chocolate, because that’s what I had on hand.)

2 sticks (1/2 lb, 16 T) butter

1 T matcha powder

1 C granulated sugar

1 C dark brown sugar

5 eggs

2 t vanilla extract

1 1/4 cup flour

1 t salt

2 T cocoa powder

3 T malt powder

Directions

Step one: use a bigger double boiler than I did. Seriously, use a nice big mixing bowl and set it over a big pot of simmering water. I used the smaller of my two fondue pots (no, I was not around in the seventies; I just really like fondue) and had to stir very carefully at the end.

Heat the oven to 350°F and butter a 9×13 pan.

Once your double boiler is simmering, toss in the butter and chocolate.

I made these immediately after the matcha chips, and I didn’t see any point in washing the chocolate melting pot in between because the next step here is to add matcha to the chocolate and butter.

Stir the mixture as it melts. Make sure it’s completely smooth.

Remove the chocolate from the heat and add the sugars.

Stir the sugars in and set the mixture aside to cool a bit.

Sift your flour, salt, cocoa powder, and malt powder into a separate bowl.

Go back to the chocolate mixture and add the eggs and vanilla.

Stir the eggs in. This was the hard part for me and my tiny fondue pot. I’m shocked that I didn’t get chocolate and egg everywhere.

If you used a good-sized pot for the chocolate, dump the dry ingredients on top and fold them in. Don’t over-stir. Fold in the matcha chips as well, and pour the batter into your prepared 9×13 pan.

Bake for about 30 minutes at 350°F. Now, with matcha powder in the batter, and matcha chips dotting the brownies, there’s only one logical serving choice.

Matcha ice cream. Just a bit. After all, we wouldn’t want to overdo it.

, , ,

  1. #1 by dish & tell on May 26, 2011 - 9:55 AM

    I’ve never used matcha but have always wanted to. Thanks for the recipe, I’m going to have to try this sometime! (I also love the little owl that seems to appear in every entry. Too cute.)

  2. #2 by koshercorvid on May 26, 2011 - 6:20 PM

    It’s tea, and has all the bitterness that goes with it, but also very earthy and fresh, almost like basil. There’s nothing else like it! It’s funny, because no matter how much I cook with coffee and tea flavors, I don’t actually drink them often at all.

    The salt owl may be my favorite thing. He’s so cute!

Leave a Reply

