Hash Browns

Who doesn’t need a quick, crispy breakfast recipe? Admittedly, we often don’t have time for a cooked breakfast. If I want to be at work at eight, I’m snagging a piece of fruit or a yogurt on my way out the door.  But when I do have time, the salt-fiend in me demands hash browns with the waffles and pancakes. If I only have time to make one? Hash browns. Waffles are practically dessert, anyway.

The best thing about making these is that, aside from some slightly fussy knife work, they’re really easy. I used to have this brilliant machine, which did two-thirds of the slicing for me, but to be honest it wasn’t half as sharp as my ceramic knives and the more time I spend in the kitchen the better my knife skills get. Which is good, because if I slip up with my current knives I will lose a hand. They are SHARP.

Ingredients (serves two)

two medium russet potatoes

3-4 T butter

1 t salt

spices and herbs to taste. Cayenne is great.

Directions

Heat a large skillet over medium-high. Cut the potatoes into tiny cubes. The easiest way to do this, if you don’t have a machine, is to cut each one in half and slice every 1/4 inch in one direction, then rotate 90 degrees and slice again. Then turn the french-fry slices on their side and cube them.

Melt 2 T butter in the skillet and toss the potatoes on top. Dot the tops with more butter, and sprinkle with salt.

Cover the pan with its lid and let the hash browns fry and steam for 5-7 minutes. Just enough time to make a milkshake.

Remove the lid and flip the potatoes.

I keep stirring and flipping until they are very crispy. If you like them softer, just give them another 2-3 minutes and then serve. With a milkshake and a banana.

This deserves an Om nom nom.

, ,

  1. #1 by uforicfood on May 1, 2011 - 5:22 PM

    mmmm I love hashbrowns. I have never made them before, and never really thought about doing them like this. Can’t wait to give it a try – they are one of my favourite things!
    Cheers,
    Lisa

    • #2 by koshercorvid on May 1, 2011 - 9:41 PM

      Yeah, I think normal people grate their potatoes. I tried that once. Grated half the skin off of two fingers. Potatoes are too hard and standard graters too dull to handle them. I guess the grater on the food processor might work, but I like ’em this way.

Leave a Reply

