Roasted Red Potatoes

Potatoes are probably my all-time favorite food. I like them mashed, fried, baked, twice-baked, souffléd, chipped, hash browned, latked, and gratined. I use them to make gnocchi, pierogis, omelettes, and even slice them into my stir fry. If you don’t like potatoes, I really don’t know what we have to talk about. Poatoes are brilliant. And sometimes poisonous, but that’s all right.

These particular potatoes are chopped and roasted in duck or chicken fat, leaving them crunchy and moist at the same time. I’m making them again tomorrow to serve with smoked brisket and brocolli, but I have more than once decided that these lovely things are the star of the meal all by themselves. This tends to make Mr. B sad. See, while I can happily eat meat only once or twice a week, he doesn’t understand the concept of a dinner without it. It took him years to stop asking “where’s the entree?” when I served a vegetarian pasta dish. I guess growing up on a ranch will do that to a man. At any rate, roasted potatoes!

Ingredients (serves two. Two as a side, two as a main dish. If you double it, be warned: it may still serve two. They are so good you’ll keep coming back for more.) 1 pound red potatoes

4 cloves garlic (or more, if you really like garlic.)

3 T schmaltz

2 sprigs rosemary

Salt and pepper to taste. Cayenne is good, too. Decide what spices will best complement your meal, and run with it.

Directions Preheat the oven to 400°F. Chop potatoes into bite-sized chunks. Cut garlic in half and remove the germ. Or not, if you like the germ. I think it has a weird texture.  Spread the cubed potatoes and garlic in an 8×8″ pan, and dot the top with schmaltz. (That’s rendered poultry fat, guys. I use duck.) Scatter rosemary leaves over all this, season liberally, and pop the whole thing in the oven.

After 40-45 minutes,  these beauties will be ready to eat. try not to burn your tongue on them–the look and smell so good you’ll want to pop them in your mouth like candy, straight out of the pan, but that hurts. Er–not that I’d know from experience.

Serve with meat and veg of your choice.

, , ,

  1. #1 by megi on April 24, 2011 - 7:04 AM

    I love roasted potatoes with garlic and rosemary and yours look wonderful. I am new to your blog and love it!

Leave a Reply

