Deep Dish Peanut Butter Cookie “Pizza”

I’ve been seeing a lot of fine-looking skillet cookies around the Internet these last few weeks, and I have to say that I heartily approve. Who can say no to a cookie that is mostly chewy gooey center with only the barest hint of crusty edge? Not me, certainly.

But that wasn’t good enough for me. No, I wanted to go all out and  make this pizza cookie as decadent as I possibly could. Because a deep-dish pizza without toppings is just a skillet bread, now isn’t it? Don’t get me wrong, I am from, and still live in, the South. I have no problem with skillet bread. But pizza it isn’t.

Cue toppings.

White chocolate for mozzarella. Reese’s cups for pepperoni. Go on, admit it, you want some. Unless of course you’re allergic to peanuts like my niece, in which case, go away! You’ll go into anaphylactic shock just looking at this stuff.

Ingredients are modified slightly from the delightful cookie recipe in The New Best Recipe.

Ingredients (makes one big honkin’ skillet cookie, plus a few deep-dish cookies. Serves about 10, or 1 person suffering Recent Breakup Syndrome. In case of the latter, serve with ice cream.)

2 1/4 cups flour

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t baking powder

1 1/2 t salt

2 sticks (16 T, 1/2 pound) butter

1 cup dark brown sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup peanut butter (your favorite kind)

2 eggs

1 T vanilla extract

For toppings

1 heaping cup of grated white chocolate, or a mix of chocolates of your choice

7 or 8 Reese’s cups, and/or other candy of your choice

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F

Cream butter really well. I don’t usually bother telling people this step, but if you skimp on it now there will be clumps of butter wrapped in peanut butter. Ew. So cream it nice and thoroughly and there will be no surprises.

Then it’s time for sugar. Again, beat well. In fact, at every step, just mix the crap out of things. Go on, it won’t hurt. Peanut butter goes in next.

Then eggs.

Then vanilla. Glorious, ethereal, brilliant vanilla.

Finally, sift your flour, leaveners, and salt into the mix and go at it again.

And we have cookie dough! Try not to eat it all just yet.

Get your cast iron or other ovenproof skillet out and spread most of the batter out into the most ginormous cookie ever. I say most of the dough, because I had a few ramekins lying around and I thought “single serve deep dish cookies” and, well, this happened:

I couldn’t help it, I swear! The owl made me do it. Just look at the little sneak, plotting to eat those cookies. It’s all his fault.

The small ones bake for about 13 minutes at 350°F, the big’un took 25 or 30 minutes at the same temperature. I pulled it out once it had a discernable crusty edge. So now you have one of these:

And maybe a few of these:

Be careful pulling them out of the oven, by the way. I know it’s pretty darn obvious that a pan handle that’s been in the oven for half an hour at 350°F is going to be hot, but I swear the human brain has what I like to call a stupid part that says “Hey, that’s a handle. It’s for holding. Let’s grab it without a glove, we should be just fine.” That part of your brain is wrong. I promise. Trusting it will hurt. A lot.

Get your toppings ready.

Sprinkle the grated chocolate over the cookie. It will melt really really fast. Then arrange the Reese’s cups over that. They will melt, too, and the surface of the pizza cookie will be almost flat. Give it some time to cool, no matter how good it smells. Then dig in!

I brought this to a friend’s house and six of us ate more than half of it. After telling my friend two or three times to not wash the cast iron, I left it there for the greater good of my waistline. And it sort of feels like leaving my thumb behind, but I am trying to stop worrying about a silly piece of kitchen equipment. It’s not a child, after all.

(No, it totally is. We saved this cast iron from abuse at the hands and sinks of college students almost seven years ago. Oh cast iron, how could I abandon you so?)

As for the cookie, I loved it. It was soft and just a bit salty under the toppings, which were almost too sweet (I think half dark and half white chocolate next time. And oh yes, there will be a next time.) I think it went over rather well, and the presentation got a good laugh.

As for the little ones? I thought about popping a Reese’s cup on top of them, too, but didn’t. And they were soft and creamy with that fine shell-like crunch that you find on the best brownies, while being almost liquid in the middle. I brought one to work and couldn’t stop thinking about it all morning. The verdict? Make this. Make it now. You will not regret it.

 

, , ,

  1. #1 by lexy3587 on April 5, 2011 - 6:58 AM

    I feel like I should be heading home from work right now, in order to make this. It looks that good, and I do love peanut butter. You might be an evil mastermind of the baking variety. You also might be interested in checking out this recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/guy-fieri/smore-pizza-not-just-for-kids-recipe2/index.html
    … Soooo delicious. If you like spice, add more cayenne (I did… might have gone overboard, though), because the spicy/sweet combo is amazing.

    • #2 by koshercorvid on April 5, 2011 - 3:36 PM

      Ooh, I hadn’t thought of s’mores! Possibly because making kosher marshmallows is kind of a pain, but it might be worth it. . .

      • #3 by lexy3587 on April 6, 2011 - 5:54 AM

        Oh! It hadn’t even occured to me that marshmallows weren’t kosher. But still… you can make some pretty dessert-y pizzas with a regular pizza crust that are very tasty, even without marshmallows.

  2. #4 by Lynda Kayes on April 5, 2011 - 1:27 PM

    as you know I am a cookie monster and this cookie looks like it could tame the wildest among us! who could resist a cookie with reeses??

    • #5 by koshercorvid on April 5, 2011 - 3:39 PM

      You could probably do the same with your favorite chocolate chip cookie dough, if you baked it a bit longer. Invite Mom and everyone over if you do though–this is a lot of cookie!

  3. #6 by faithbenitez on April 6, 2011 - 4:19 PM

    so i ❤ pizza and i ❤ cookies. this is brilliant.

  4. #7 by Elaine on April 13, 2011 - 3:02 PM

    Yum…this looks spectacular. Food: my other love. Thanks for the bee information!

    • #8 by koshercorvid on April 13, 2011 - 9:46 PM

      I’m kind of a science nerd (as well as about six other kinds of nerd. Sigh), but I try not to let it out too much on the food blog. I’ve always wanted to get into hobby apiculture, but apartment living isn’t exactly conducive to bees. Someday.

Leave a Reply

