Broccoli Pasta

I mentioned this meal in yesterday’s rant, mostly because I knew I would be making it soon. As a side note, cooking with concussion is maybe not so smart. And if he’d known it was concussion, I’m sure Mr. B. would have cooked for me. As it was, I was loopy while cooking, and I’m kinda loopy now, so apologies if I don’t make much sense. (And don’t worry Mom, it’s not all that bad.)

So there it is, my beloved broccoli pasta. This is a really quick and easy weeknight dinner. All it takes is, well, broccoli. And some pasta. And. . . it’s really just time for an ingredients list.

Ingredients (serves 3-4)

1/2 lb pasta. I’ve used farfalle, penne, even orzo, but tri-color rotini is my favorite. It’s pretty and flavorful.

2 medium heads of broccoli, cut into florets

1-2 cloves garlic, minced (which I completely forgot to add this time. Concussion, remember?)

3 T olive oil

3-4 T lemon juice (yes, I got it out of a bottle. The real lemon equivalent is the juice of one really, really juicy lemon.)

1/2 cup grated parmesan

a little more grated cheese (I used Parrono) to serve

Oh, cheese. How I love you.

Directions

Bring a nice big pot of water to a boil. Salt but please don’t oil the water. There’s oil in your sauce. The salt is to flavor the pasta. Once you’re boiling, cook the pasta 5 minutes, throw in the broccoli florets, and cook 5 minutes more.

Steam can make anything look sinister. It’s good, I swear. So, now you want to drain your pasta in a colander and pull out a wok or nice big saucepan. I prefer the wok. Cook the garlic until it just starts to brown and makes the whole kitchen smell warm and happy. Then add the olive oil and lemon juice and stir it up.

I still can’t believe I forgot the garlic. We realized once it was at the table, and threw on some garlic powder. It worked okay, but the right way is far better. Now for the reason you wanted a nice big pan: dump the broccoli and pasta into the lemon-oil, and stir to coat evenly.

Then add the parmesan and stir:

Once the parmesan is all melted and wonderful, plate the pasta and serve with a bit of grated cheese on top. This is really good with grilled or baked fish. I’d like to try it with salmon en croute as well. Last night we just had it with bread and mozzarella sticks. It’s just as good.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

