Baked Nutella Pudding

First of all, I found a recipe for Nutella chocolate cobbler the other night, and I swear I had dreams about it. And even though I won’t call it a cobbler (cobblers have either rolled dough or dropped biscuit bits for tops in my world), I will acknowledge here and now that what I made would not have happened without that post. I adapted it (more brown sugar, less white; hazelnut extract instead of vanilla). I plan to make a few more changes (see the end of this post) next time. But make this now, if you can. It will help keep you warm, if you’re snowed in like me and Mr. Blackbird are.

Ms. Miko, on the other hand, wanted to bound in the snow like an arctic hare. Crazy cat.

So. Baked nutella puddin’. You really can’t go wrong. Anything this dark and rich and molten will warm you from the inside in ten seconds flat. Already warm because you live in Florida where you can mock me with your 81° weather while I shiver out here? (I’m looking at you, mom.) Fine. Make it anyway. Because it’s like an easier, better lava cake and who doesn’t want that?

Ingredients (serves 4, maybe 6 with ice cream. )

For the Puddin’

3/4 C flour

1 T baking powder

1/2 t salt

3 T cocoa powder

1/2 C brown sugar

1/2 C milk *

1/2 C Nutella

6 T butter, melted

1 T hazelnut extract (or almond if you don’t have it, or vanilla if you don’t have that)

For the Toppin’

1/2 C granulated sugar

1/2 C brown sugar

3 T cocoa powder

1 1/2 C boiling water

Directions

Heat the oven to 350° F. Mix flour, baking powder, salt, cocoa powder, and sugar in a medium bowl. Once the mixture is a nice uniform color, add milk*, melted butter, extract, and nutella, and mix those well. you want this nice and thick, like a frosting.

Scoop this into a baking dish. I used my 2-quart ramekin, but individual ramekins would work, too.

It looks like frosting. I wanted to just scoop it out with my fingers and eat it right then. I didn’t. Aren’t you proud?

So next you make the topping. Combine the sugars and cocoa powder in a small bowl and sprinkle evenly over the pudding. The topping is very dry. We’ll take care of that in just a second. See, now you pour the boiling water on top. I know, I thought it was crazy too. But I did it, and I don’t regret it.

Now bake the whole thing in your 350°F oven for about 40 to 45 minutes. It will still jiggle a good bit, but the topping itself should be fully cooked, like the delectable floating cookie it is.

I’ve had this now two nights in a row, with coffee ice cream. I know, I hate coffee, but love coffee ice cream. I never pretended to be sensible about such things.  Anyway, this:

is a pretty good way to recover from chasing this:

around in the snow when she forgets that she is strictly an indoor cat. And yes, she is trying to rub her face in the snow up there. I don’t know what’s wrong with her.

*Okay, about the milk. you’ve probably forgotten, but I haven’t. I think that both the cocoa and nutella flavors would be improved by subbing in sour cream here, much as it’s used in  devil’s food cake. I also think slathering extra nutella on top would be nice, instead of ice cream, but Mr. B. says that’s overkill. I don’t think so, mainly because the hazelnut flavor is actually very subdued compared to that of the chocolate, and even hazelnut extract didn’t ramp it up enough for me. That said, I don’t think actual hazelnuts would do much for the texture we’re going for here (more lava, less cake). I’m open to suggestions.

EDIT

I just made a peanut butter chocolate version. Oh my goodness, I just want to drink it all out of the soufflé dish while it’s still hot enough to burn my tongue and refuse to share it with anyone. Alas, I had company. So I ate out of a ramekin and used a spoon like a good girl, and I don’t think anyone was aware that I was trying to figure out a way to steal their servings, as well. There’s just enough changes that I’d rather just put up a new ingredients list, so here goes.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Pudding

For the Puddin’

3/4 C flour

1 T baking powder

1/2 t salt

1/2 C brown sugar

1/2 C sour cream (yep, it worked!)

1/2 C creamy peanut butter (as always, I like Jif)

6 T butter, melted

1 T vanilla extract

For the Toppin’

Exactly the same as the Nutella version. Directions don’t change either. Have any ideas for yet more versions of this ridiculously scrumptious dish? Let me know!

 


I won’t share next time. They can’t make me.

, ,

  1. #1 by ashrowell on February 4, 2011 - 11:00 PM

    This sounds AH-mazing! It’s on my to-do list.

    • #2 by koshercorvid on February 5, 2011 - 12:01 AM

      It really is. I’m going to have to start going to the gym way more often now that i know how easy this is!

  2. #3 by faithbenitez on February 4, 2011 - 11:56 PM

    um. yum!

  3. #4 by betsy on February 5, 2011 - 6:05 AM

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. This pudding looks great. I love molten cake and this looks so much easier. I’m going to try it. I’m glad to discover your blog. It looks like you like to make the kinds of things I do, so I’ll be sure to visit again.

    • #5 by koshercorvid on February 5, 2011 - 4:27 PM

      I’m all about easy. I work weird hours, so I don’t always have long to get dinner together, but I still want to eat well!

  4. #6 by Lynda Kayes on November 4, 2011 - 7:31 AM

    making this for the weekend, it is really too good to share!

Leave a Reply

