Garlic Miso Dip

Ah, appetizers. They’re guaranteed to be invited to a dinner party, but sadly can end up being rather lackluster compared with the main event and dessert. So when I say I provided veggies and dip, along with salmon and goat cheese and crackers, please don’t roll your eyes. because this dip is unbelievable.

Garlic Miso Dip adapted from Yoshoku by Jane Lawson*

6 T miso paste

4 cloves of garlic, crushed

4 t powdered sugar

1 1/2 t sesame oil

3T  mirin or sake**

1/3 cup water, with dashi dissolved in if you can find it. I couldn’t.

Orange zest to garnish, if you feel like it. Yuzu or Ugli fruit are even better, but let’s don’t be silly. That’s a special trip to the grocery store and it’s cold out.

** There’s citrus in my mirin. If yours doesn’t have any, because that isn’t normal, add about a teaspoon of orange (or yuzu or ugli) juice. It provides a nice finish.

Mix everything together in a bowl until smooth. It’s a great dip for cucumbers, carrots, daikon or radishes, and apples. Yes, apples. Eat to cleanse the palate between bites of cheesed-up salmony crackers.

I know it’s ugly. But it is so wonderful in the way only miso paste can make things. The recipe makes a lot. Pour a bit over stir fry with a wedge of citrus and you’ll be glad you had extra. It keeps pretty well in the fridge for at least a week. I’ve never had any left longer than that.

*Apparently this cookbook is out of print. Hey, not anymore! And it’s really really good, so if you like Japanese food with a twist, go forth and drool over it. Quite seriously, I have a lot of cookbooks. Most of them, I end up using maybe half a dozen recipes from. This one I use all the time, and I had to stop marking pages with post-its because I had marked almost every page. Okay, sorry for the near-advertisement there. I’m done now.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jane Lawson on January 31, 2011 - 5:50 AM

    Hey there, glad you like the dip! Thanks for your kind comments. I have a bit of an update for you – as of tomorrow ( 01 Feb 2011) Yoshoku is back in print with a new cover.
    See Murdoch Books website or my blog eatspeakjl.blogspot.com for details.

    ps – just for the information and protection of yourself and fellow food bloggers – please know that while most authors and publishers are really happy for you to promote one of their cookbooks by posting about it or the recipes within on your site – more than a few recipes per book could attract the kind of attention you might not be seeking… just don’t want you getting into any copyright hot water!

    Cheers, Jane

  2. #2 by koshercorvid on January 31, 2011 - 11:57 AM

    Well hurrah! Updated the post with happy news of the book’s return.

    I’m actually quite aware of copyright law in this country (and just double-checked at http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl122.html), but obviously I take your point, it would still be rude as all get-out to overdo it.

    I also have what may be a bad habit of changing every recipe I make (when I bother using a recipe), first to make it kosher, second because I’m lazy and don’t want to run to the Asian market when, say, I’m out of dashi yet again, and third just to see what happens. Hope you don’t mind; I just can’t seem to leave perfectly good recipes alone!

  3. #3 by Jane Lawson on February 15, 2011 - 8:05 AM

    Hey there, much appreciated ! Thanks for the “near advertisement” – I am really happy to know it has been put to good use in your kitchen,
    Cheers, Jane

Leave a Reply

