Apple Tart with Sorbet and Lime

I really do eat an apple a day with my lunch. Usually a PB&J as well, and often a cheese stick. Some of my eating habits, in other words, have not changed since the first grade. Apples are great. They’re good raw and plain, with peanut butter or cinnamon sugar, diced into yogurt, and of course made into pie.

But an American apple pie just wouldn’t do to follow fondue. It’s too heavy and rich, and when you’ve just eaten enough cholesterol to stagger a moose and are picking at carrots in guilty recollection of New Year’s Resolutions,  “rich” and “rib-sticking” are not the adjectives you want in your dessert. “Fruity” and “subtle,” on the other hand, will do nicely.

I cheated making this. I used frozen puff pastry. I’m sorry.  I’m even sorrier that it tastes no different than the stuff I used to spend hours on in the kitchen. Oh well. Here it is:

Apple Tart

1 sheet of frozen puff pastry

4-5 small apples

1 t lemon or lime juice (I had lime juice handy because of the sorbet and lime balls)

1 t vanilla

2 T butter, plus more for buttering pan

1/4 cup brown sugar (not packed)

1/2 t cinnamon or 1T Goldschlager

Butter an 8×8 pan and line with thawed puff pastry, turning down the edges to make a little crust. If you made your own puff pastry, I applaud you. I doubt I’ll be doing it again. Slice apples very thin and arrange in overlapping layers in a pattern of your choice. Brush with lime juice and vanilla (I just mixed ’em) to keep apples from browning. Cut butter into itty-bitty pieces and dot the tart with them. Sprinkle brown sugar over it all. You might not want as much sugar as that; it really is supposed to be pretty subtle. Dust with cinnamon or sprinkle with Goldschlager or other liqueur of your choice. This will keep in the fridge for a day or two. When you’re ready to make it, heat oven to 400ºF and bake for 20-22 minutes until it smells apply and the pastry edges are nice and crisp. Enjoy!

But wait! I promised you sorbet and lime balls. They’re super easy. You need: 1 lime per 2 people, and a scoop of sorbet for each lime half.

Cut the bottom and top 1/4 inch of each lime off, then cut the limes in half. Scoop out the delicious innards, but let the juice pool in the skins. Fill with a scoop of raspberry or orange or even lime sorbet. Wrap loosely in foil and put in the freezer until ready to serve. They do make an impression!

It started to melt on the counter while I was looking for the camera. Came out yummy though. I love how the lime juice gets sucked up into the sorbet, making it tart and limey.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

