Hiatus

It turns out that narrowing down, applying to, and otherwise stressing about graduate school is a very time-consuming operation. There are so many researchers working in so many fascinating areas that just reading the abstracts of their papers is a little overwhelming, let alone factoring in the schools’ research foci, locations, graduate placement odds, etc. Add into the mix sheer nerves about going back into academics after too many years working, and a pile of time spent re-teaching myself calculus I haven’t used since undergrad, and you’ll begin to see how the past weeks aren’t leaving much time for the blog.

I’m still cooking, but making the additional time for photographing and writing up those tasty items is on a lower priority for the moment. The plan is to return next week-end with some seriously delicious cauliflower, and get back to a once-a-week posting schedule following that.

The cauliflower is worth waiting for. In the meantime, have some olives and bocconcini and toast. We all need a simple lunch that needs no preparation sometimes, right?

, ,

  1. #1 by jschnable on May 6, 2012 - 3:06 PM

    Best of luck! Grad school takes a bunch out of anyone but it is also the most fun I’ve had in my life so far.

    • #2 by koshercorvid on May 14, 2012 - 7:53 PM

      Thanks! I hope to be ready for the challenge, assuming I can convince a school somewhere that my unorthodox background is worth taking a risk on! I thankfully have a lot of opportunities to talk with local researchers and the occasional professor (though I wonder how and why they make the time for it on occasion), and those conversations always leave me way more excited than any other career path I’ve ever considered. Fingers crossed!

  2. #3 by Joanne on May 8, 2012 - 7:08 AM

    Good luck! I’m technically in grad school now and from what I can tell, applying is probably the worst part. After that, it’s stressful but in a fun way.

    • #4 by koshercorvid on May 14, 2012 - 7:58 PM

      Thanks! And hey, aren’t you working on an MD/PhD? Applying can’t be the most difficult part of that! Nevertheless, looking and preparing to apply is exciting; I’m learning about more fascinating research almost daily at this point–thank goodness for Mr. Blackbird’s journal access; I would be tearing my hair out being stuck with just abstracts of some of these papers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

