Red Wine Poached Salmon

I may have mentioned that I rarely eat fish. It’s not that I’m averse to fish, it’s just that I live in North Texas and I know that whatever fish I buy is not fresh. It bothers me. But salmon is frozen almost everywhere you find it in the States, and it is Mr. B’s favorite fish, so I try to indulge him.

And oh, my, is this an indulgence. The dark, rich sauce. The delightful, tender salmon flesh. The crunchy side of green bean fries that I am not going to share a recipe for today.

I don’t drink red wine. Honestly, I drink maybe twice a year, and always wish I had just stuck with juice or soda when I do. ┬áBut for cooking, I use about a bottle of wine a week. I cook with beer as well, and if we ever had liquor in the apartment I would bake with it all the time. But I digress. Red wine forms a deep, impressive glaze on the outside of the salmon, and even if it did nothing for flavor I would cook this again for the color alone. The flavor is surprising–almost (but not quite) sweet, assertive, and really tasted more of grape than wine. Maybe this effect comes from the particular wine I used, I didn’t drink any to find out, but I was impressed with the result.

Ingredients (serves 2)

1/2 bottle red wine

1 sprig rosemary

2-3 cloves garlic

2 T honey

1/2 t worcestershire sauce

pinch salt

2 (four to six ounce) salmon filets

2 T butter

Directions

Mix wine, honey, worcestershire sauce, minced garlic, rosemary, and salt in a large saucepan and bring to a boil.

Add salmon filets, reduce the mix to a simmer, and cook, covered, for five minutes. Flip the salmon over and cook, covered, for another five minutes. Set the cooked salmon aside.

Add butter to the poaching liquid, bring up to a boil, and reduce by half.

Spoon the sauce over the salmon and serve immediately. This is good with steamed vegetables or a salad, but infinitely better with the delightful crunch of batter fried green beans. It’s a guilt-free meal you must try soon. It’ll make up for the guilt from the brownies I’m writing up tomorrow.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

