Ice Cream Sandwiches

I defy anyone to resist these. It’s almost midnight as I’m writing this, but after a tiring day at the renaissance fair (I know, my life is so hard, right?) in Texas heat all I wanted was to eat these. Not just one. A whole plateful. I was that hungry and that overheated. Unfortunately, as we’ve just discussed, my life is terribly difficult because instead of making another batch of these and scarfing them down, I had to go see Thor with my friends. Also, I should probably get to the food part instead of just admitting to a bunch of people on the Internet (not to mention my mother) that I’m an irredeemable geek. Sorry mom! For those of you who don’t live 1,262 miles from your mothers, these would be a great treat for mother’s day.  (No, seriously. I checked on Google Earth. 1,262 miles. It’s 1,270 to my dad’s house. That’s really, really far away.) For those of you who are mothers, but your kids are lame/far away/vegans, these are super easy to make and contain enough chocolate to cheer you up. (Psst, mom: Tell your other daughter to cook them. But I still get good kid points, okay?)  

Ingredients (makes 36 cookies, therefore 18 cookie sandwiches, but still about 2 dozen servings. I brought these to work and most people cut the sandwiches in half. I don’t blame them; these cookies are enormous.) For the cookies:

16 T (2 sticks, 1/2 pound) butter

1 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 t vanilla extract

1/3 cup Nutella

1 cup cocoa powder*

1 3/4 cups flour

1 t baking powder

1 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

1/3 cup cocoa nibs or chocolate chips (optional)

For the cookie sandwiches:

1 quart ice cream

1/2 cup cocoa nibs, chocolate chips, or espresso beans (optional)

Directions Preheat the oven to 350°F. Cream the butter well, then add the sugars and mix them in. Add eggs, vanilla, and Nutella and mix again. Sift in cocoa powder, flour, baking powder and soda, and salt. I know it’s a lot of chocolate. That is a very good thing. Do not fight it. Mix everything well and stick the dough (which I did not take a picture of, sorry) in the fridge for ten or twenty minutes. This dough is incredibly sticky, and it’s much easier to manipulate when it’s chilled. Form the dough into about 2-tablespoon sized balls and arrange them on parchment lined baking sheets. I don’t always use parchment for cookies, but again, these guys are sticky. You probably want to line ‘em up. I had fun squashing each dough ball with the heel of my palm, but I doubt it’s necessary. These cookies need no encouragement to spread nicely. Incidentally, Mr. B said the dough balls looked like cow patties. He added, in case I wasn’t sure, that they looked gross. He was surprised, for some reason, when I threatened not to share the poor insulted cookies with him. Don’t insult the cookies, okay? Bake at 350°F for 8-10 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through if you suspect, as I do, that your oven cooks unevenly. These develop lovely cracked surfaces, and I kind of wish I had dusted the dough balls with powdered sugar to enhance the effect. Just look how nice they are! Now we just need to turn these things: into sandwich form. First I froze the plate of cookies, to minimize melting of ice cream while I prepared things. Yes, I’m going to keep showing you cookie pictures. I can’t get over how pretty these cookies are. Scoop some ice cream into a bowl and mix with cocoa nibs or chocolate chips or whatever other textural filling you want to use. Sorry, I can’t bring myself to measure ice cream. Just use an amount. Plop a generous scoop (still not measuring) of ice-cream mixture onto a cookie, top with another cookie, and smoosh the two cookies together. Repeat until all of the cookies are sandwiched. I used raspberry sherbet for most of the sandwiches, but made a few coffee ones as well. The nibs add a delightful bitter crunch to the filling, but I understand that there are people out there who do not like cocoa nibs. The cookies need to be kept in the freezer (obviously) until you’re ready to serve. I made sure to freeze my serving plate as well, because they had to survive a 20 minute drive to work on a rather hot day. *Yes, this recipe calls for a whole cup of cocoa powder. I use Hershey’s special dark, because it’s both palatable and cheap. I won’t use regular Hershey’s cocoa powder, because it has a chalky aftertaste and believe me, when you’re using it in this quantity, you will notice it. I’ve used Valrhona before, and would do so consistently if it weren’t (a) expensive and (b) only available, as far as I know, at Sur La Table which is like a twenty-five minute drive from both work and home and I am really, really lazy. Plus, if I go into a Sur La Table for cocoa powder I will leave with a pile of other things I don’t actually need and my kitchen will officially explode from its inability to contain all the stuff I try to fit into its poor little cabinets. Also, if you want a comparison of cocoa powders, I recommend this here, which is way more put together and informative than anything I could ever do, even if I were willing to buy 17 different kinds of cocoa powder and consume them each in shot form. Which I am not.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Cherszy on May 8, 2011 - 1:31 AM

    These are delicious-looking! Now, I want some ice cream sandwiches – and it’s all your fault. Hahaha! :)

    By the way, don’t stress yourself out too much. Life is difficult, but you gotta think it’s complicated for a reason – it’s for you to be able to have more experience in order to appreciate things. Easy stuff are always fun, but they never give that glorious feeling. Enjoy life no matter how complicated it is. It’s always worth it! :) Keep those delectable cookies coming! :)

    • #2 by koshercorvid on May 8, 2011 - 10:47 AM

      They are delicious! It just occurred to me that if you used vanilla frosting instead of ice cream, these would be the best oreos ever. Like the Platonic form of the oreo. I must do this.

      And um.. my life isn’t hard. At all. Was joke. There’s nothing better than a day at the ren fair followed by movies with my friends. Not to brag, but this weekend is awesome!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

